Health & Social Care

Choose a subject

 “To preserve health is a moral and religious duty, for health is the basis of all social virtues. We can no longer be useful when we are not well.”  Samuel Johnson

Curriculum Intent

The aim of the Health and Social Care curriculum is to equip students with sound specialist knowledge and skills for everyday use and of how to meet the needs of individuals across a range of health, social care settings. The curriculum develops an understanding of the skills and qualities required to influence care and empowers students through encouraging independence and creativity; providing tasks that engage with the most taxing aspects of the National Curriculum (including Values of Care and the current legislation requirements) and the importance of softer skills such as communication to ensure individuals right to independence and dignity. As a Key Stage 5 subject, we deliver the Pearson National in Health and Social Care. The qualification design, including the range of units available, allows learners the freedom to explore more deeply the things that interest them, as well as providing good opportunities to enhance their learning in a range of curriculum areas. 

We encourage multiple approaches to learning, such as practical opportunities and real-life scenarios, which will support learners to develop their applied knowledge and practical skills. 

Lessons provide learners with a range of stimulating activities that challenge and allow them to demonstrate their depth and breadth of knowledge. Lessons delivered are built on prior learning ensuring that learners are challenged and supported. Targeted questioning is used to enable learners to reflect on the importance of being able to apply the theories covered to a vocational context. The use of “progress” and “progress+” tasks are designed to encourage learners to be aspirational in their desired outcomes. 

They will be accomplished in their ability/aptitude to demonstrate tolerance, respect, dignity, effective communication skills and application of anti-discriminatory practice

Assessment Objectives

Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment: 

  • External (Written Exam) to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of key concepts in Health and social care. Learners demonstrate they can apply appropriate knowledge to a work related challenge in timed conditions

  • Internal (Assignments) Apply knowledge and understanding of how to meet the needs of individuals across a range of health, social care settings.

  • Synoptic – an opportunity to independently select and apply learning from across their programmes in the completion of a vocational task in order to demonstrate skills, techniques, concepts, theories and knowledge learnt

Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction (D), Merit (M), Pass (P), Near Pass (N) and Unclassified (U). The grade of Near Pass is used for externally-assessed units only. All mandatory and optional units contribute proportionately to the overall qualification grade, for example a unit of 120 GLH (Guided learning hours) will contribute double that of a 60 GLH unit. 

Qualifications are graded using a scale of P to D*, or PP to D*D*, or PPP to D*D*D


What it leads to:

There are clear progression routes into higher education or employment: such as a BSc. in Health and Social Care, BSc. in Nursing, or direct entry-level employment, training or apprenticeships.